Crodos

Since I started baking, my little sister B has always been asking me to try to make Cronuts. I was like, “Cronuts? What’s that?” And then, I googled…

CRONUT 101

What is a Cronut™?

Described by many as a half croissant, half doughnut — this pastry hybrid by Chef Dominique Ansel is taking the world by storm. After its launch on May 10, 2013, Cronut fans spanned the world from Berlin to Singapore, making it the most viral dessert item to date.

Please eat Cronuts immediately as they have a short shelf life. And if you do cut, please use a serrated knife, so as not to crush the layers. Never refrigerate these treats as the humidity from the refrigerator will cause them to go stale and soggy. Since Cronuts are filled with cream, we do not recommend serving them warm.

The Makings of a Cronut™…

Taking 2 months and more than 10 recipes, Chef Dominique Ansel’s creation is not to be mistaken as simply croissant dough that has been fried. Made with a laminated dough which has been likened to a croissant (but uses a proprietary recipe), the Cronut is first proofed and then fried in grapeseed oil at a specific temperature. Once cooked, each Cronutis flavored in three ways: 1. rolled in sugar; 2. filled with cream; and 3. topped with glaze. Cronuts are made fresh daily, and completely done in house. The entire process takes up to 3 days.

(Source: http://dominiqueansel.com/cronut-101/)

The craze is spreading like wildfire. Originally from NYC, versions of it are now available in the Philippines (where my sister is) and Singapore, and everywhere else.

Well, out of curiosity, I invited hubby for coffee (fruit juice for me!) and cronuts last night at Gastronomia Da Paolo in Holland Village. Gastronomia calls their cronuts “CRODOS”, priced at S$4.90 each. Prior to going there, I read in some blog comments that these crodos are sold out as early as 12nn every day. We still went just to check and see if it’s true.

They currently have Crodos in three flavours: Chocolate, cream, and lemon.

When we arrived there, only 3 pcs of lemon flavour are left (it’s the one with the pretty, burnt white meringue on the top photo). We bought one, plus one croissant to compare the texture and taste.

I like the lemon-ey flavour of the cream and the light sweetness of the meringue. The texture of the pastry is in between the flakiness of croissants and the softness of donuts.

Looks nice, and I was quite excited at first, but will I buy again? I think I would, to try other flavours and only when I crave for it. I would still prefer the good ol’ plain donuts and croissants separately.

I’m not sure also if I would try to make cronuts, ‘coz the whole process takes 3 days and yet, it has a short shelf life (refer to quoted text above). But if I find an easy and less time-consuming recipe, why not?

Cronut versions are currently available in Singapore in these stores (click on the link for their locations):

Related articles:

8 comments

    1. Haha, that’s cool! :) Have you tried them? I didn’t find anything fantastic about the Singapore version, but would love to try the NYC original version to see what the Americans are so crazy about to queue up early in the morning for 2 hours!

      Like this

      1. No, I haven’t tried one yet – I’m avoiding them at the moment because there is so much hype that I’m worried I’ll be disappointed! They sell out pretty quickly, but if I can get my hands on one I’ll let you know :)

        Like this

  1. Hi! The cronuts there looked yummier — especially the lemon flavoured one with meringue. Oh well, we know how food fads come and go. Let’s see if the cronuts have longevity.

    But do let us know though if you decided to try baking one :) that would be an interesting read! :)

    Like this

    1. Hi. Thanks for visiting my page. :)

      It is delicious, but not something I would rave about. I find nothing so special about cronuts, except for the somehow creative idea behind it. Let’s see if I would try baking them. I love shortcuts in baking, and just knowing how long it takes to make them makes me want to just buy.

      Like this

Leave a Reply

