Sweet Tooth? Not really…

When I told my friends that I’m pregnant, they would always ask me, “What do you crave for?” And I would always answer back, “nothing unusual..” My normal, pre-pregnancy cravings are always salty food. Even up to now, although I try to eat less of it because of the little one. (Daydreaming mode ON: I can see about 2 years from now, me and little Alexa watching her favourite cartoons while sharing a big bag of Doritos.. yum! haha!)

Recently, hubby and I have been doing some window shopping for a table top oven to purchase once we have moved to our new house. Initially, hubby wanted a built-in type but with the additional cost for installation works, I told him that I can settle for the table top type. I’m a newbie in baking, anyway. After doing some research, I think we will be going for the Rowenta OC7891. It’s a bit pricey, but have read a lot of good reviews about it.

Because I am SOOOO excited about getting my hands on this oven, a lot of sweet treats have been pinned to my Pinterest board, Food, waiting to be tried and tested. (Click on image for source)

This is Nigella Lawson’s chocolate cake recipe, which, according to Ju, is a very easy, fail-proof recipe that even a child or a newbie baker (that’s me!) can make. So I guess this will be the very first recipe that I’m gonna try.

Cupcakes for breakfast? Why not? It has everything you would want to eat in the morning — bacon, eggs, hash browns, and cheese!

Cheesecake…

.. and another cheesecake…

.. and another cheesecake! Ooohh… this one I LOVE! Even without the cheesecake, haha!

My sister used to bake chocolate chip cookies really, really well. We even sell them in school or give it out as presents for Christmas.

Caramel-glazed apple bread.

Love salted caramel! Starbucks had the Salted Caramel Mocha drink for a limited time and it was a heaven of salty sweetness! Hope it comes back soon!

I’m kinda in love with brownies, so I’d probably be stocking up on this.

I also would like to try baking Filipino breads that I miss — Pan de sal (salted bread), Spanish bread, coconut macaroons, and this…

Napoleones! A favourite pastry from Bacolod City, Philippines, my mom’s hometown. We always ask our relatives from Bacolod to bring us some when they visit Manila.

Now I’m drooling just looking at those photos!

Will be trying these recipes soon. And I promised hubby that I will be making lots of healthy treats for him as well.

Just an update, I am now at the end of my 28th week. My tummy is getting a lot bigger and heavier everyday, and walking can be really tiring now. Little Alexa has been doing some stretching inside the tummy, I often feel one side of my tummy hard like her head is pushing against it. And hubby needs to give me a push when getting out of bed ‘coz I cannot sit up by myself, haha. We’ll be seeing the doctor tomorrow for some blood/glucose tests. Hope everything will go well.

Have a great Thursday!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

