Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Today is DIY day. We are painting our old dark brown console white. But that post would be for later ‘coz we are still working on it.

I am not allowed to get long exposure to paint fumes so after just a few brush and roller strokes, hubby would fill in and do most of the work. So while he’s at it, I thought of baking some cookies for him and for a friend who’s visiting tomorrow.

I’ve always thought that making cookies is easy. But since I have never tried doing it, I googled cookie recipes on the “easy” level and found this Perfect Oatmeal Raisin Cookies With Only 6 Ingredients by Baker Bettie. Love her food photography style too!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup softened butter
  • 1 cup sugar, preferable dark brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tbsp vanilla (optional)
  • 1 tsp baking powder (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon (optional)
  • 1 cup + 2 tbsp plain flour
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1 1/2 cups oatmeal, preferably rolled oats
  • kosher salt (optional)

Procedure:

  • Preheat oven to 350ºF.
  • Mix the butter and sugar together until completely combined.
  • Add the egg and mix until incorporated. If using, add the vanilla, baking powder, and cinnamon and mix until incorporated. (I used them, ‘coz I love cinnamon!)
  • Stir in the flour then the raisins and oatmeal until combined.
  • Drop rounded mounds of dough on ungreased cookie sheets and sprinkle with salt if using. Flatten the dough mounds slightly before baking. (You can use ice cream or cookie scoop for this. I don’t have any of those so I used 1/4 cup measuring spoon and pressed to half of it, which resulted to a big chunky cookie.)
  • Bake at 350ºF until just lightly browned on the edges and middle still looks undercooked, about 9 minutes. (I baked mine for 12-15 minutes.)

My new poster in the kitchen… Keep calm and COOK!

Total yield: 30 pcs of big chunky cookies! They aren’t as sweet as I expected them to be, but I love them! Not a sweet tooth, anyway…

If I were to make them for the baby shower, I would make them smaller and bite-sized.

Now going back to our painting job…

Thanks for dropping by!

One comment

Leave a Reply

