Chocolate Crinkles

As I am writing this post, my feet is up ‘coz it’s already swollen from all the walking and standing, and I’m feeling all the extra weight on my feet and ankles. (Note to hubby: feet massage, pretty pretty puhleeezzz!)

Anyway, I’m sharing with you the 3rd and last part of my baby shower dessert table. My personal favourite, the chewy chocolatey chocolate crinkles.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (I used the regular cocoa powder)
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil (I used canola oil)
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract (I only have vanilla powder, so I used 1 tsp of that)
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup confectioners’ (icing) sugar

Procedure:

  • In a medium bowl, mix together cocoa, white sugar, and vegetable oil. Beat in eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Combine the flour, baking powder, and salt; stir into the cocoa mixture. Cover dough, and chill for at least 4 hours.
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line cookie sheets with parchment paper. Roll dough into one inch balls. Coat each ball in confectioners’ sugar before placing onto prepared cookie sheets.
  • Bake in preheated oven for 10 to 12 minutes. Let stand on the cookie sheet for a minute before transferring to wire racks to cool. (I leave mine on the cookie sheet to cool before transferring to avoid breaking the bottom of the crinkles.)

So far, this is the best among all the recipes I tried to bake. Taste and texture is excellent, even kids love it!

Here are some tips that I got from the comments in the recipe:

  • Place your cookie sheet on the second to-the-top rack and only bake one cookie sheet at a time. The hot heat at the top of the oven enables the cookie to crack. – Abby15
  • Make sure to coat them with enough powdered sugar to get them to “crinkle.” -Elttaes
  • In a tropical country like Singapore where the weather is always warm, put the dough back in the fridge to cool. The more chilled the dough is, the easier it is to roll into balls. – tip from my sister M (she makes delicious crinkles too!)

Just in case you missed it, here are the links to the other desserts that I made for the baby shower:

Enjoy!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

