Fake Betty Crocker Brownie Mix

This morning, my aunt and uncle arrived from Manila to stay with us for some time to help take care of Baby Alexa. I’m so thankful that they can spend time with us, no work or other obligations back home to worry about. For first time parents like us, it’s a huge relief to have family around who would know what to do when the “big day” comes and everything that comes after that.

Anyway, last night I wanted to try another easy dessert that I found on Pinterest. Since before I had my oven, I had been collecting interesting and easy-to-do recipes in my Pinterest boards, Desserts and Meals and Other Edibles.

That easy dessert that I’m talking about is the Betty Crocker Fudge Brownies.

Well, it’s somehow like this boxed mix that you can find in the supermarket, but what I tried is the FAKE one, made from scratch. Thanks to Heather Bea for the idea, and the recipe!

Ingredients:

1 cup sugar
1/2 cup plain flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking powder

Mix all the ingredients together and dump them in a Ziploc bag. On the bag, write the following instructions:

Add:  2 eggs, 1/2 cup vegetable oil, 1 tsp vanilla extract. Bake @ 180 degrees C for 20-25 minutes in a 9×9 pan.  

But of course, I did not put them in a Ziploc bag ‘coz I was just too excited to try them out!

I dumped all the ingredients in a medium bowl and just used a wooden spoon to mix them all together, without realizing that I do not have a 9×9 inch pan!

I read from the comments that if you use a 9×13 pan (which I have), it would turn out thin and crunchy. I wanted to double the amount of ingredients but I have only 2 eggs left. So I just settled with using my mini muffin pans and made 24 pcs out of it.

They were baked for 30 minutes (that’s when the toothpick came out clean when inserted), and they looked like cookies, haha!

But believe me, it was SOOOO GOOD!!! Especially the chewy but crunchy top! And it was so easy to prepare that it would take you no more than 5 minutes to whip it up.

I’m stocking up on bags of this mix so I can have them again anytime. And I will make sure that I have the proper pan size, or make a double of the recipe to fit my 9×13 pan so I can have the fudge brownies that do look like brownies (like the ones on the Betty Crocker box).

Btw, you can add nuts (like I did) for that extra crunch, or some white or milk chocolate chips for extra sweetness.

Two more work days to go before my maternity leave starts. Yay! I can finally get that much needed sleep and rest before I join the motherhood club!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

