Skinny Broccoli Cheese Soup

Whenever I would go out for lunch on workdays, I would choose either fastfood, the hawker centre, or the Soup Spoon.

At Soup Spoon, my all-time favorite is one of the chef’s specials, Broccoli Mac and Cheese, which unfortunately is not available everyday of the year.

Another one is at Souperlicious, their Broccoli Cheese Soup is also to crave for.

I am not much of a healthy eater, in fact I love McDonald’s and KFC. But it has been almost 5 months post-pregnancy and someone can still mistake me to being 3 months pregnant! I need to get back in shape, fast!

Hubby and I are too lazy have no time to exercise because of our little one, so for the meantime, we will try do our best to eat as healthy as possible. This is our first attempt to a homemade healthy food.

Skinny Broccoli and Cheese Soup

Recipe from Anjali @ The Picky Eater

Ingredients: 

  • 3 cups unsalted vegetable stock (I used 2 chicken cubes in 3 cups water)
  • 4 cups broccoli florets, coarsely chopped
  • 1 cup diced yellow onion
  • 1 chopped carrot
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 + 1/8 cup half-and-half (I used 1 can evaporated milk)
  • 4 ounces shredded reduced-fat extra-sharp cheddar cheese, divided (I used 4-5 cheese slices, the only cheese available in my kitchen)
  • 1/4 cup fresh flat-leaf parsley leaves (optional, garnish)

Procedure: 

  • Combine first 7 ingredients in a large saucepan; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes or until broccoli is tender.
  • Turn off the heat. Using an immersion (hand) blender, blend the soup until it’s creamy. [Alternatively if you don’t have a hand blender you can use a regular blender: Pour soup into a blender. Remove center piece of blender lid (to allow steam to escape); secure lid on blender. Place a clean towel over opening in blender lid (to avoid splatters). Blend until smooth. Return soup to pan.]
  • Stir in the half-and-half (or milk) and 2 ounces cheese. You don’t need to turn the stove back on again, the residual heat from the soup should melt the cheese. (For this step, the amount of cheese I dumped in is according to my taste preference)
  • Top evenly with remaining 1 tbsp cheese per bowl and parsley. (My sister made milk dots and topped it with dried basil.) Makes 4 servings.

I have made a little modification ‘coz I used only whatever is available in the kitchen. I was too excited to try my new immersion blender and did not bother to buy the exact ingredients according to the recipe.

We had some leftovers which we finished on the next day and I can say, the leftovers taste better! The cheesy goodness has been more distinct, I liked it!

By the way, we got an immersion blender ‘coz our baby will be trying on pureed food when she turns 5 months this Saturday. We’re all very excited for that, can’t wait for her 6th month! I can’t bear to see her chew on her toys for another month, haha!

One comment

Leave a Reply

