Homemade Flour Tortillas and Tacos

Hello everyone! A very nice and relaxing Labor Day to y’all!

Since today is Labor Day, I made soft tacos for lunch, all homemade — I call it labor of love!

Tacos has always been a part of every celebration we have back home, together with pasta and pizza. We always buy taco shells from the supermarket. I’ve never thought of doing it from scratch, not until now.

I’m very proud of myself today! While I was heating the flattened dough on the skillet, my heart was filled with excitement as I saw the bubbles forming. And then I flipped it over, I almost jumped for joy! I did it!

Thanks to Pinterest, I found this very easy but great recipe.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cups water
  • 3 tbsps olive oil

Procedure:

  • Combine flour and salt in a bowl. Stir in water and olive oil to form a soft dough. Let it rest for 10 minutes.
  • Divide the dough into 8 or 12, depends on the size of tortilla you want, and roll each piece into a circle. If you’re making tacos, I suggest dividing it into 12, 8 pieces if you’re making burritos or fajitas.
  • Heat a large skillet or griddle over medium-high heat, and cook tortillas, turning when bubbles start to appear. The whole cooking process should take between 2-3 minutes per tortilla.
  • Wrap tortillas in a towel to keep warm. Serve immediately.

For the taco filling:

  • Ground beef or pork with taco mix. Cook as per taco mix’s instructions.
  • Cabbage or lettuce
  • Homemade salsa
  • Grated cheddar cheese

We usually do it the “serve yourself” way. That way, you can put whatever you want, and how much you want.

Enjoy!

Thanks for dropping by,

Alexa’s Mom

 

Leave a Reply

